Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-20-2018, 01:19 PM - 5 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

Practicing portraits with my wife
Lens: FA 77mm 1.8 Ltd Camera: K3-ii Photo Location: Home ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/125s Aperture: F4 

I'm completely new to portraits. So, I'd love to hear what you all might think of these images. Besides watching dozens of YT videos of lighting and shooting techniques for portraiture, I am also enrolled in a photography course at a local college that begins soon. It seems better to begin the class with my hands a little dirty, than to walk in without having tried anything.

My lovely wife came home after a makeup class last night, so I figured it was as good a time as any to try out some of the techniques I'd been reading about. I shot raw, developed in Lightroom, and tried for as natural a look as I could manage, but admit that I have only a few weeks experience playing with the software and may have a heavier hand with it's features than would be ideal. There's much to be improved, I know, and I have my own points of criticism for these shots. However, I'd love to hear your thoughts on the images, and suggestions for improvement.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-3 II  Photo 
01-20-2018, 01:39 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I prefer the first pose, which shows a better smile and more natural eyes.
01-20-2018, 02:03 PM - 1 Like   #3
Digitiser of Film
Loyal Site Supporter

I like both shots, actually, but particularly the second. The pose is nice, especially the sideways look from the eyes and slightly muted smile, and the highlighting of the earing adds a nice, interesting touch. The lighting reflections visible in the forehead and temple are a little off-putting, but I'm being picky here

I think you did a great job - and your wife's make-up class clearly went well too - the colours really suit her
01-20-2018, 11:13 PM   #4
Site Supporter