Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
10-04-2018, 08:29 AM - 9 Likes   #1

First "Decent" Astrophotography Photo
Lens: Samyang 14mm Camera: Pentax K-3 II Photo Location: Skipton, North Yorkshire, UK ISO: 1600 Shutter Speed: Above 6s Aperture: F2.8 

Hello,

This is my first post on the Pentax Forums. I've been using Pentax cameras for around 10 years now but haven't really given astrophotography a go before up until around 2 months ago.

This was taken last weekend and it's what I would call my first "decent" astrophotography image... I'd just like a little bit of critique if possible please and any pointers on something I could do better?

Attached Images

10-08-2018, 05:17 PM - 1 Like   #2
Forum Member

It looks good to me. Perhaps it could use a little more contrast to darken the sky a little. I really like the foreground.
10-02-2019, 06:24 AM - 1 Like   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by willlarmour21 Quote
Hello,

This is my first post on the Pentax Forums. I've been using Pentax cameras for around 10 years now but haven't really given astrophotography a go before up until around 2 months ago.

This was taken last weekend and it's what I would call my first "decent" astrophotography image... I'd just like a little bit of critique if possible please and any pointers on something I could do better?
I think it is quite a bit above the standard of a "decent" image.
I think it is a great image.
10-03-2019, 08:25 AM   #4

Photos: Gallery
Hello,

Nice spot crongratulations !!!

10-05-2019, 07:50 AM   #5
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Would prefer a little more foreground space, I think, but otherwise, my main criticism would be with the obtrusive watermark. (Get rid of that thing. It may offer a degree of protection, but it seriously discourages people from viewing your image.) Little astro experience myself, but happen to like your image a lot.
10-10-2019, 03:45 PM   #6