Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-13-2018, 02:11 PM   #1

Portrait of a Doe
Lens: SMC Pentax-A 70-210mm MF Camera: K-1 II Photo Location: Fort Collins, Co ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/350s Aperture: F5.6 

Hello all!

Total photog-newbie here (though I've admired photography for a while). Took the plunge and purchased a K-1 II a couple weeks ago. As a long-time outdoor enthusiast and birder, I'm primarily interested in nature and wildlife photography (including macro).

Thanks to all you forum members for the helpful reviews, how-tos and tips that have helped me tremendously!

I've been out about a dozen times so far. I had ordered the SMC Pentax-A 70-210mm MF used on Amazon for $70, so I decided to try it out.

This was at 210mm and f5.6 IIRC. It was well into sunset on a cold, cloudy evening at the CSU Environmental Center in Fort Collins, CO. This sweet yearling Whitetail doe held real still for me while I fumbled with my settings and snapped a handful. I think this was my best of the lot.

I increased contrast some and vibrance just a little (in Lightroom) to make up for the cloudiness and failing light.

I'd love your feedback on anything you think would be helpful! Thanks for looking

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-1 Mark II  Photo 
11-13-2018, 02:32 PM   #2
PJ1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Welcome to the Forums. That is a nice pic to start with. Wildlife is always hard and even more difficult when you have to deal with manual focusing. But it is very satisfying when you get it right. Whether AF or MF, I always find that taking as many images as I can increases my chances of getting a "keeper". Hope to see more of your work.
11-17-2018, 11:58 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
It's beautiful picture. Perhaps it would be nice to remove destructive branches around the deer to separate it better from the background.
11-18-2018, 06:16 PM   #4