Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
03-12-2019, 06:01 AM   #1

The Sheeffry Hills
Lens: SMC Pentax-M 28mm F3.5 Camera: K-5 Photo Location: Ireland, Co.Mayo ISO: 80 Shutter Speed: 1/200s Aperture: F8 

Landscape photo taken in beautiful area around Sheeffry Hills in County Mayo, Ireland. Would like some feedback.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
PENTAX K-5  Photo 
03-12-2019, 07:28 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Now, first of all, please bear in mind that I am a novice (at best) - but I thought I would make this my first critique as I really like your photo.

I may be going about my critique all wrong - but I thought I would share it anyway, as I do enjoy really getting into a good piece of art!

The water is the first part I see, it pulls me into the image passes me onto the trees and the fences which help my eye explore the lowlands. It (the water that is) has a deep, dark, mysterious quality to it - cold - yet alluring. From the treeline I find myself wandering up into the hills beyond, and from there to the snow-crested summit, and thence the clouds.

The clouds are of particular interest to me - as there is a very interesting juxtaposition between the darker clouds to the left, and the lighter, fluffier clouds to the right. At first I found this a little distracting - it was like the grey clouds were looming - I found my eye getting drawn to them and if you follow it down, it leads you off the image (though in doing so, it does rather nicely complement the slope of the hill). But, the more I look at the image, the more I find myself fascinated by that very juxtaposition - that very feeling of looming - it helps to capture the dynamics of the weather here - it makes me feel like I should expect rain: that I've had a period of sunshine and can expect an overcast period soon.