Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 18 Likes Search this Thread
11-20-2019, 06:50 AM - 1 Like   #16
Unoriginal Poster
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I'd go for square frame from about center of the landscape shot, if that's allowed. If not, then portrait. I have had a portrait landscape phase going on for some time now and often find it offers more interesting composition. Probably due to shooting lot of landscapes with tele lenses during last couple of years.

11-20-2019, 08:11 AM - 1 Like   #17
Forum Member

I'll add another vote for the landscape orientation, but you may also want to consider a square crop for a shot like this (as iheiramo already mentioned). It might be able to help you achieve a "best of both worlds" look by focusing the image on the most interesting bits. I've found this is a good compromise for some of my shots, after I started shooting an old medium format TLR.

Last edited by bobtheicicle; 11-20-2019 at 08:48 AM.
11-20-2019, 08:26 AM - 1 Like   #18
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Landscape. Draws you in to the "tunnel" created by the trees in a way the portrait version does not.
11-21-2019, 09:50 AM   #19
Pentaxian

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by iheiramo Quote
I'd go for square frame from about center of the landscape shot, if that's allowed. If not, then portrait. I have had a portrait landscape phase going on for some time now and often find it offers more interesting composition. Probably due to shooting lot of landscapes with tele lenses during last couple of years.
Now that is something I hadn't considered before.

I also like portrait landscapes. For a waterfall or a river, for example, it presents very interesting possibilities that a landscape doesn't.

In this one, I don't really feel that the pavement in the landscape is too big and distracting, but since a lot of people think so, it probably just shows I have a lot to learn.