Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
11-02-2008, 03:46 PM - 1 Like   #1

Photos: Gallery
Feedback Welcome

I am new to DSLR --new to photography for that matter. So any feedback would be helpful. Of course I played in photoshop to jazz up the color saturation --wow RAW makes a big difference on the tweaks you can accomplish! So much more fun.
I'm excited about the possabilities --but focus seems a little harder than I thought. On closer inspection I realized many pictures I shot today were in focus somewhere--just not where I thought! So I guess I need to figure out how to keep the camera steady so the main thing in focus is what I intend.
Let me know what you think.
isin2rt

Attached Images

11-02-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Hi and welcome. Well you seem to be getting the exposure ok, maybe a little underexposed, Pentax does tend to do that so you should check your manual and find out to compensate. I might as well suggest it because if I don't, someone else will Get yourself a copy of 'Understanding exposure' by Bryan Peterson.
You should also read this ; Rule of thirds - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia it will help you with composition.
IMO the best shots you compositionally that you posted hera are the first and last two. In the first one, it would have been even better if that curb had dissected the corner.
The second to last shot (the flowers) is a nice example with an in focus foreground and a pleasant looking out of focus background.
The last shot is a nice balance of light and dark, almost a yin and yang image. I also quite like the triangle between them at the top.
The other two shots are nice but too centred.
It all starts to fall into place after a while,just enjoy it .

Good start, I look forward to seeing more from you.
11-02-2008, 05:46 PM   #3

Original Poster