Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-21-2021, 08:11 AM - 1 Like   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
star field of What?
Lens: dfa*50 Camera: k50 Photo Location: home ISO: 1250 Shutter Speed: 1/2s Aperture: F1.4 

Hello all. This was taken as an HDR 3 image and resolved in camera. Tripod mounted, 3 second timer, no filter, focus to infinity, I had the 3/4 (give or take) moon just off screen. and of course a lot of other light from being just a few miles from Atlanta, my neighbors porch light etc. I had the hood on which seemed to be absolutely necessary.

The image came out with a not so dark sky. I turned the contrast up and maybe the shadows down. I really just thought to make more contrast. Obviously Im not an expert.

The image is take facing somewhat south so South is at the bottom of the screen (my best recollection). I think the Pleides were to the right (east) but in some tree limbs. I tried to get a pic of just sky. In hindsight I will likey include those at the edge so i have an anchor, next time. Im not sure if just my inexperience but I thought the central object was Arigua. However, now that I cannot currently go out and look again - until tonight (fingers crossed)- It is a mystery to me what I took a photo of. I have been looking at star charts and I don't get them to match. So my bet is that I am so wrong that this is not going to help you help me.

So far as the image, I see the edges of the photo the stars sort of double up, which Im guessing is due to the 3 image composite and different colors/wave lengths so some should probably be cropped . But I did not crop so y'all might be able to give more advice for when the next semi clear sky appears. I think we have been overcast for a couple of months until last eve.