Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-25-2021, 03:36 PM - 3 Likes   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Color and Black and White
Lens: K-3 Camera: DA*16-50mm f/2.8 Photo Location: Florianópolis, Brazil 

I'm still learning to process my K-3 images. I find the sensor data is a bit different in the way it reacts to processing, at least from what I'm used to with the other Pentax cameras I have or have had (K-S1, K-50, K-r, K20D, K200D and K10D). So I'm leaving PaintShopPro and DarkTable aside and using only RawTherapee until I learn to process these files well.

In this exercise, I tried to get the best color image and the best black and white image out of this scene... the processing isn't that different, but the color image is a bit brighter with less contrast, to make the image a bit more pleasing to the eye as a whole, and the black and white is a bit darker with some contrast boost for a bit more of a dramatic effect in the waves.

Any preferences between these two? Any tips on what I could have done differently? Input is appreciated

03-05-2021, 01:10 PM   #2
Forum Member

I really like that you didnt go overboard with your contrast boost in the black and white version, there are still plenty of details in the hills. The colour doesnt have the same degree of depth for some reason, not sure why. The black and white pops nicely. Great image.
03-05-2021, 03:44 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Waffles Quote
I really like that you didnt go overboard with your contrast boost in the black and white version, there are still plenty of details in the hills. The colour doesnt have the same degree of depth for some reason, not sure why. The black and white pops nicely. Great image.
Thank you for your kind comments