Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-05-2008, 12:43 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Macro light setup & reflections - help!

I'm a macro newbie, and I'm having some problems photographing jewelery. My setup is the following:

Basic light tent, lights on each side. White gobos at the front.

My problem: How do I eliminate the black reflection caused by the lens and open space between the gobos? Should I place a light above the camera shooting into the space between the gobos? Or should I be shooting my macros with a lot of ambient light in the room?

I used the Tamron 70-300 set at 180mm stopped down to take these shots. I don't have a dedicated macro lens yet, but I thought that increasing the working distance would minimize the reflection of the lens. That's essentially what I remember from reading the chapter on metal in "Light: Science and Magic" a few years ago.

Here's a photo of my setup, and of the black reflection that I'm talking about.

Hopefully the experts on this forum can chime in with some suggestions!

Attached Images

12-05-2008, 04:45 AM   #2
Veteran Member

That is the same problem I am facing when I try to shoot glass/goblets.

Have a look here for possible ideas - TableTop Studio - Product Photography Step-by-Step How to

EDIT
Wonder how a circular polariser filter would work!!!!

Last edited by JCSullivan; 12-05-2008 at 05:27 AM.
12-05-2008, 09:44 AM   #3
edl
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the link. Looks like there's lots of good information over there.

I'll try a polarizer, completely forgot about that!
12-05-2008, 12:49 PM   #4

Photos: Gallery
My tips.

- close your lighttent on the front side also, make a hole just big enough for your lens.

- Using non reflectif black paper.

- make sure you camera is not lit, not by the lamps but also not by other like the room light.