Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2009, 07:16 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
photo critique

I hope its OK to ask some discerning eyes to give some constructive criticism of the following 3 images. I'm mostly interested in critique on the composition, subject, and/or overall impression. Please be honest - even brutal - if you must.

I am a renewing amature. I've started with a K1000 30 years ago, and have been enjoying my k200d for the past 7 months.

All the images were taken with the K200d (I think in Auto mode), in 10MP jpg format and spot metering with the 18-55 DA II kit lens. I should add, that I did do some PP with the exposure in Windows Photo Gallery software.

The fist image was taken at 18mm, 200 ISO, 1/350 at f6.7

The second was taken at 18mm, ISO 200, 1/180 at f9.5

The third was taken at 18mm, ISO 200, 1/180 at f11

This is my first time including images in my thread. We'll see if this works or not.

Thanks

Last edited by drjaxon; 02-18-2009 at 12:25 PM.
02-12-2009, 07:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I love the shadows of the trees in the snow. And also am amazed that the kit lens did not really flare, even though you were shooting directly into the sun..
02-12-2009, 07:47 PM   #3
Pentaxian

#1 - I would have moved a bit closer to get inside the branch at left.
#2 - same branch distraction.
#3 - best composition. Says everything the first 2 do in a more pleasing way.
02-12-2009, 07:57 PM   #4
Veteran Member

OK here is my honest opinion: The first two just look like a picture of a row of trees by some snow taken with a wide lens. The third one is special though. Something about that lonely tree across the lake from the others, adorned with the backlit shiny ice/snow on its branches and pristine snow in the foreground. That one I like!

02-12-2009, 08:40 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Moved to photo critique section.
02-12-2009, 09:03 PM   #6
Veteran Member