Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2009, 12:11 PM   #1

First PPG attempts denied. Critique?
Camera: K10D ISO: 100 

One thing I don't like about the PPG is the lack of a reason for rejection. I've found 1x.com to be really good for getting critique, but you're very limited on how many submissions you can do and their standards are very high.

Anyway, I thought I had a good shot with these but all 4 were rejected. If you can just tear apart 1, or all, that would help tremendously. I don't personally know any other photographers so I'm always struggling to get an honest critique.

All were shot with the 18-55mm, except the red sunset (shot with an SMC Tak 200/4)

Note: in the submitted version of this shot I'd cropped out the power line in the top left and boosted the contrast a tad more.

04-17-2009, 12:39 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
First off, I should stress that I'm a rank amateur and may well have no clue what I'm talking about! I have 4 images in PPG, all of which I got in before peer voting was begun, and I imagine that they might not get in now.

All four of your photos are competent, pleasing images - and I think that's the problem. There's no wow factor. I suspect that it's getting harder to get into PPG because they already have many, many very lovely sunsets, cityscapes, etc. and to get votes, yours have to knock the viewers' socks off.

It also seems to be a bit of a crap-shoot sometimes - there are some in PPG that are quite ghastly, and plenty have been shown here as rejects that I would happily have voted in.

The B&W bridge doesn't do much for me, and I don't think it's because of the low contrast. I find my eye drawn out of the frame by the line of the bridge - I look at the large structure on the left, follow the bridge, hit some dark, featureless trees, and fall out of the frame.