Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-20-2009, 10:16 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
A Rembrandt-esque portrait of my Better Half
Lens: 31mm Camera: Pentax K20D ISO: 100 Shutter Speed: 1/180s Aperture: F1.8 

My better half requested I take a picture of her with wet hair (I had asked her to a while back). I took six images and this was undoubtedly the best. After I was done processing it, she said it looked good and looks a lot like Rembrandt's style of lighting.

Anyway, here it is. Please comment on anything I could do to improve future portraits like this one.

Last edited by kcmadr; 11-22-2009 at 05:23 PM.
09-21-2009, 12:24 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Very beautiful. (both your picture and your "Better Half")

I'm not an expert at portraits, but I might:

1) put a little more catch-light in her eyes.
2) increase your background light (behind the photographer) so that her pupils don't dominate. She has very pretty eyes that counterpoint the color of her hair.
3) either fill-light a tiny bit more of her hair or block some of the light behind her on her shirt.

Like I said - very beautiful and take my comments with a grain of salt.

f.
09-21-2009, 01:47 AM   #3
Ash
Community Manager
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
A nice capture.
Perhaps crop a little of the empty space above or reframe with more of her body within the frame.
Also suggest a touch of light behind her just to separate her from the dark background.
Her eyes are quite a feature of the photo - striking.
09-23-2009, 11:16 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Not sure about you set up, but a reflector on camera right might add some highlights to her hair and separation to the background.

09-23-2009, 11:20 AM   #5
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Always show some ear!! (Good job).
09-23-2009, 12:04 PM   #6
Veteran Member

I think it's lovely.
09-23-2009, 08:27 PM   #7
Veteran Member