Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-01-2010, 09:26 AM   #1

Product Shot
Lens: 45mm Camera: Pentax K20D ISO: 100 

Hi all, this is my first attempt at two 'product shots'. (Obviously) its of my Olympus XA3, which I received recently.

It was shot in a rather crude light-box, with a single AF360fgz wirelessly fired to the left of the camera at 1/2 power. From what I remember, I shot at 45mm both times with my K20D using a 16-45mm f/4.5 lens.

and

Personally, I was quite happy with them, though some of the highlights have blown. Any thoughts, critiques or advices, please? I'd especially like advice on lighting, I think a second strobe might have helped fill in some of the 'greyness' around the bottom of the camera?

01-03-2010, 02:39 PM   #2
Ash
Community Manager

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Good results.
The product is well exposed and softly lit on a smooth, non-distracting white background - well suited.
Your 'blown highlights' would just be the white background to the top of the image, which is expected and doesn't matter - the subject itself is what you look at.
You could certainly fill in the shadow areas, but they also add to the 3D look of the shot. Even better is a pearly glass table that provides a muted reflection of the product below - or it can be done in PP.
01-03-2010, 06:31 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Great work! I would just consider cleaning off the lint/dust. Try a piece of masking tape rolled (reversed) around your fingers and tap.
01-03-2010, 08:46 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums