Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-12-2010, 08:03 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Self Portraits for a class
Camera: Pentax K110D Photo Location: Indoors 

I was assigned to take self portraits for my photo appreciation class that started today. Sure, it's not due until next thursday and was just assigned today but I couldn't wait to get started!

I've never taken self-portaits really so this was a bit difficult. The only thing I was really trying to do with these shots was to make sure to get some of my ideas laid out. In 2 days I have a K20D and a 40mm Ltd showing up at my doorstep so that's when I'll get way more serious about it, but I'm looking for some ideas as far as my actual framing and theming of the pictures.

If you have any more tips please feel free to give them, as I'm totally new to self portraits!

There are full sized versions of all of these as well as a few more attempts here:
Flickr: ejbusch's Photostream

01-13-2010, 12:35 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Eric, these are difficult to appraise for me - they don't quite evoke the feelings or character I'd wish for in a self-portrait. If anything, #2 is close to the mark, with the addition of the guitar prop arranged in a creative way.

The lighting is also important here and so perhaps working on that to create clearly defined highlights with greater contrast and depth may help, but that's just a suggestion.
Keep at it and try to incorporate your personality within the image.
01-13-2010, 12:39 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Maybe you would understand them better if you knew me, and that is something I understand.

I am a software developer, I co-founded an iPhone development company in fact. And that takes up most of my life. That's why I elected to use that in those pictures.

Thanks for helping out! I'll be sure to keep all of these things in mind as I move forward.
01-13-2010, 02:36 PM   #4