Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-17-2010, 12:05 PM   #1

First flower shot
Lens: 50mm Camera: K20d ISO: 200 Shutter Speed: 1/6s Aperture: F4.5 

Hi all,
This is my first attempt at shooting flowers. I used a pentax-a 50mm f1.7, and a tripod.
When I downloaded the photos I realized that I was shooting with ISO 200 (dumb!). Anyway, I still have the flowers around, so if you give me any ideas, I can use them in my following photos.
Another thing, I am including the original photo, and another one, where I added a little fill light in picasa. Which one do you prefer?
Thanks.

Gaston.

The photo looks worse here, due to the size reduction. For higher resolution click here.

Attached Images

01-17-2010, 01:16 PM   #2
Ash
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Second one for its brighter and more contrasted look.
But there's nothing wrong with shooting at ISO 200 - in fact, it's preferred with a tripod to stabilise the camera for such shoots.

Good first attempt - now focus on how you can make these types of images stand out with different lighting techniques. Here, they appear quite flat due to very diffused ambient lighting.
01-17-2010, 06:51 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thanks for your critique Ash. I will try to change the lighting to see if I can get a more interesting shot.

Gaston.
01-17-2010, 09:34 PM   #4
Damn Brit

Don't forget perspective as well. IMO these flowers would work better portrait style, the shape and colour of the stems and leaves make a nice contrast to the shape and colour of the flowers.

01-19-2010, 10:09 AM   #5

Original Poster
Second attempt...

Hi again, I tried a different perspective here, and I tried to use a different source of light also, making use of Gary and Ash (thanks a lot guys).