Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-19-2010, 09:04 PM   #1
Inactive Account

Photos: Albums
Yellow Flower
Lens: 50mm Camera: Kx Photo Location: New York ISO: 1600 Shutter Speed: 1/15s Aperture: F11 

Hi - I'm very new to this... I just got my first DSLR (Kx) and was hoping to get some constructive critisium / guidance on how to take better pictures; and or fix them after I've taken them. I just figured out what PP stand for and was wondering what adjustments are recommended. The only software I have (and I'm not that familiar with it yet) is "ACDSee For Pentax" and I upload my pics in Picasa.

If you can check out my 3 pictures (Star, Yellow Flower and Pink Rose) which I'll post seperately to avoid confusion as to which comments belong to which photos I'd really appreciate it.

Also, I've read some good things regarding "Noise Ninja" - would that help the image quality of these if I were to print?

Thanks!

Marc

Attached Images

03-19-2010, 09:22 PM   #2
wjt
Veteran Member

Hi marc and welcome the the forums, i am quite new too. I will say that i feel as though the iso is hurting that shot, if you have a tripod try retaking it with a longer shutter speed.
I just read an article in 'digital slr photography' magazine about the style of shots you are doing. They said iso 100, tripod and shutter release (these are cheap off ebay and there were some on our marketplace a couple of days ago) and also they recommended lighting with a LED torch. Instead of the shutter release you can just use the camera's timer. I think this will give a good place to start
03-19-2010, 09:29 PM   #3
Inactive Account

Original Poster
Thanks mibane.... Good info. I appreciate it.
03-19-2010, 09:35 PM   #4
Damn Brit

This would have been much better portrait style. You have centered the subject and there isn't enough space around it.
ISO is way too high, (ISO 100 for still life) and shutter speed is way too slow it has caused blurring.