Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-21-2010, 01:27 PM   #1
Veteran Member

A few photos from San Francisco
Lens: 18-55mm Camera: Pentax *ist DS 

It never hurts to have someone tell you what you're doing wrong, although these photos are a year old I'd love to hear some input on them from some of the members here.

04-21-2010, 04:37 PM   #2
Inactive Account

I love the last photo!! I love photos of signs and things like that. I love the bw conversion here as well. I do not like the others as well though. They all seem to have alot of negative space.

The first dwarfs the blimp. I would cut the sky in almost half.

The 2nd photo I would crop off the part at the bottom. I don't think it adds much to the photo.

The 3rd i don't really like the placement of the building. It seems like it was shot head-on. I am a fulltime portrait photographer. I use 45 degree angles all the time. I shoot alot of buildings this same way. It adds depth and dimension to a photo. Also the sky at the top is a little distracting.

Like I said i loved the last photo. The placement and the conversion as well as exposure are spot on. I would hang that photo on the wall.

I hope I have not been to blunt or harsh. I expect the same from everyone on the forum when I post a photo.

Keep taking great photos!! Andrew
04-21-2010, 06:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by alhpro Quote
I love the last photo!! I love photos of signs and things like that. I love the bw conversion here as well. I do not like the others as well though. They all seem to have alot of negative space.

The first dwarfs the blimp. I would cut the sky in almost half.

The 2nd photo I would crop off the part at the bottom. I don't think it adds much to the photo.