Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 11 Likes Search this Thread
03-13-2014, 07:37 AM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
First time USA - any tips?

Hi Everybody,

i will visit the western USA (Starting LA - Sedona - Grand Canyon - Lake Powell - Bryce Canyon - Las Vegas - Death Valley - Sequoia - Yosemite - San Francisco - Highway 1 - LA) in April and would love some tips where to go and where not to go.
We will stay about two nights at each place. Good to get an impression, but not enough time to learn the place for good spots.
This is my first time traveling with my own lovely camera. So i donīt want to take only snapshots (of course there will be more than enough of them) anymore.

Every help is very much appreciated. Perhaps someone wants to meet some new german pentaxian and show me his/her favourite place.

Greeting from Germany

Arne

03-13-2014, 08:10 AM - 1 Like   #2

Arne you are visiting some great places. Great photo ops will almost hit you in the head. There are many good guide books to your sites (with more info than web sites). You are going to have a great trip.
03-13-2014, 08:24 AM - 2 Likes   #3
Veteran Member

Check the National Parks (you've already have a few). If you're into Mountains and Canyons, you're in for a treat this area is beautiful I did two photo trips in that area.
First trip was: Death Valley, Yosemite, King's Valley, Lake Tahoe, Sequoia and the general area.
Second trip was: Bryce, Grand Canyon, Zion (you have to go to Zion), Arches (very nice too).
I'm planning a third one in the southwest this fall to try and see whatever I have missed.

By the way, get a National Park Annual Pass (~$80) this will give you access to ALL national parks. It is worth it if you're planning on visiting more than 2 or 3.
03-13-2014, 08:37 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums