Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-20-2017, 10:34 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Travel kit: have I got it right?

I'm off to northern Italy on a holiday soon, and my OCD is getting the better of me. It's my first time to the Continent, so coming back with great photos is important, but not the primary reason for the trip. It will be early summer, so weather resistance is probably not crucial, although we will be around water a lot.

Last year, for a trip to the UK and Ireland (including me taking on semi-official photographic duties at a friend's wedding), I packed my LowePro Nova 4 AW with the K-1 and DA10-17, DFA15-30, FA31, DA*55, DFA100WR, HD55-300, AF540FGZ-II and Sirui tripod. It came in at *just* under the 7kg limit for carry-on bags, was a solid but manageable carry, and certainly did the job admirably and I had a blast.

This time I want to be lighter and less conspicuous, as especially in Rome and Florence I gather thieves are an issue.

My current front-runners for such a kit are:

KP + spare battery and charger
Same bag, tripod and flash
DA 10-17 (because fisheye)
SMC DA 21 limited (landscapes and street)
HD DA 35 macro limited (normal and macro)
DA* 55 (portraits and low light)
HD DA 55-300

All that, along with filters, rocket blower and cleaning kit, comes in at just 5.5kg. I'll probably also bring a smaller, less camera-ish bag to deter thieves in the big smoke, and my wife will have the Q7, 08, 01 and 06.

Part of me really wants to pack the FA31 and DFA100WR instead of the HD35, but the latter is a one stop crop shop.
Although the DA21 gives me the flare resistance and starbursts, leaving the DA15 behind also rankles somewhat. Anyway, the DA10-17 @ 17mm de-fishes to match the DA15's field of view almost precisely.
I could take a smaller flash (AF201FG), or just rely on the on-board flash of the KP for the occasional times I am likely to want it.