Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-03-2017, 04:08 PM   #1

Planning my sunsets and sunrises on a trip through Utah.

We have a plan right now to go to utah in the middle of september with a following itinerary:
- Zion, 2 sunsets, 3 sunrises
- Bryce, 1 sunset, 1 sunrise
- Arches / Canyonlands, 3 sunsets, 2 sunrises

And then things get tight, I have to share one sunset between:
- Monument Valley
- Page, AZ (Horseshoe bend, Marble Canyon, antelope canyon - if there are spots left)

And can do one sunrise in Page, Az.

Any suggestions at what spots I should be during golden hours in these places? if you have pictures and know good locations please share them!

09-03-2017, 05:32 PM - 1 Like   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I'm not an expert on these sites, but I do have a few thoughts about Zion. The main canyon runs north-south, so within the canyon itself is not necessarily great for golden hour. The Towers of the Virgin do light up nicely at first light, and are often photographed from the meadow behind the museum and also, much further away, from the Canyon Overlook trail. The view from the bridge toward the Watchman at sunset is so popular with photographers you'll probably be bumping elbows if you try it.

A much more interesting phenomenon, particular to red-rock canyons such as Zion, is light reflected off the canyon walls, creating a beautiful warm glow in areas shaded from direct sun. And this is available all throughout the day (if it's sunny) and at locations throughout the park, not just in the main canyon.