Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
12-11-2018, 08:13 PM - 6 Likes   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Galapagos kit review

My wife and I recently returned from a fantastic 10-day National Geographic/Lindblad expedition to the Galapagos.
I am an enthusiast photographer, not a professional, and thought I would post my thoughts on what I brought and share a few pictures. I hope it helps someone who is planning a similar trip.

Bag
Mindshift Photocross 13 Sling

Cameras:
Pentax K3ii plus 3 batteries and wallplug charger and 5 x 64GB memory cards. Peak design strap.
Olympus TG-5 and a fujifilm wrist strap.

Lenses
Pentax 16-85 ED DC WR
Pentax 55-300ED PLM WR RE

Computer
13" Dell laptop w/ 256GB hard drive
1 TB Seagate Backup plus portable HDD

Overall, I was very happy with the kit.
The sling bag was perfect. I used it for the laptop, lenses, power cords and other criticals on the flights the way there. It was full to the gills, but not uncomfortable. The waist strap is a bit puny. It helps distribute the load, but I could have used something with a little padding to it, rather than a cinch strap with a clip. Once we got there and unloaded it, it was a comfy hiker and kept the contents (lens, batteries, cards, extra caps) dry and sand free during the various hikes, and swinging it forward provided a stable platform for lens and battery changes (more on that later). My water bottle fit, too. I give it a 9.5/10.