Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-27-2009, 10:15 PM   #1
Veteran Member

New Gear for Costa Rica Trip

Hi everyone. I am a college student and in a month and a half I will be leaving for a 4 month Abroad trip to Costa Rica. I currently have the Pentax K10d and the gear listed in my signature. I am in the process of deciding on the following gear and would like inputs on thoughts as to the appropriateness/cost of the gear . All input is much appreciated

I was thinking of buying all from Amazon

Pentax K20D 14.6MP Digital SLR Camera with Shake Reduction (Body Only)
Shipped from: Beach Camera
------$749.00
Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG Medium Telephoto Macro Lens-----$401.09
Pentax SMC DA* Series 16-50mm f/2.8 ED AL IF SDM Wide Angle Zoom Lens------$621.20
Pentax SMC DA* Series 50-135mm f/2.8 ED IF SDM Telephoto Zoom Lens
------$699.95
Pentax AF 360 FGZ Flash for Pentax and Samsung Digital SLR Cameras (w/ case) -----$192.35
Pentax Remote Control F --------$18.99
DIGITAL CONCEPTS BP-L150 Digital Camera Replacement Battery (BTW are the K20d and the K10d batteries interchangeable?) -------3x $18.99

Thanks!

01-27-2009, 10:53 PM   #2
Damn Brit

Thread moved to Photo Trips and Travel Planning so you can get advice on handling the conditions with your gear.

Willoughbys has it for $725 on Amazon, the price has been fluctuating quite a bit and changes from day to day. I can't really comment beyond that on costs, I don't know how much you can afford or want to spend although you do mention in your profile that you are a student needing $$$ (this seems like a big spend for you).

The DA * lenses are sealed so they should be ok. You should also consider how you are going to deal with the humidity when storing the equipment.
You didn't mention a tripod, that would be useful but more expense I'm afraid, if you get one, you need to get a good one.