Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-29-2009, 02:02 PM   #1
Forum Member

Flying with K100D

Hey all,

Quick Background on me:
I am an Engineering student, but I have an artistic side too. I have worked previously in film & video.

Ok...I am an Engineering Student and have been working with a team who is going next week to be part of a competition. They were supposed to have a professional (I guess I'm professional too, but I mean somebody who does this full time) videographer go with them, but at the last second he was too expensive or something.

I got a phone call from the team captain inviting me to come with them, all expenses paid, if I'd be the documentarian.

Needless to say I'm having a good week

Here's what I'm wondering about...

I'll be flying across the country. I need to take my friend K100D with me. If it was just that it would be no problem, I'd throw it in my carry-on and be done. The problem is I will be taking a Panasonic HVX-200 as well.

Any travel tips?

I'm guessing the safest thing to do is to forgoe taking any personal items in my carry-on and reserve the space for my MacBook Pro, K100D, and the HVX. Do you think my lenses would be safe in my check-on luggage though? I would keep the kit lens on the camera and in the carry-on would be OLD, manual focus Pentax 50mm lens and a Sears 80-200. I'm not super worried about those lenses...both of them together cost me less than the Kit lens, but I am worried that somebody would think they looked interesting and keep them for themself.

Suggestions?

It's Wednesday afternoon...I'll likely be flying out some time Friday.

04-29-2009, 03:14 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery