Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2010, 11:37 AM   #1
Inactive Account

New to the forum - would love some safari/jungle/vacation lens advice

Hi All (not sure if my last one posted or not, I tried an hour ago and it didn't show up)!

I'm new to dpreview forums so I'd just like to start off by introducing myself. I'm a hobbyist photographer who has a Pentax K10d with only one lens: a Sigma 18-200 f3.6/6.3 lens. I enjoy taking photo's, but have never sold any. I've only won 1 very small photography contest (non-cash prize), so while I know how to frame a photo and use F-stops, I judge my abilities to be that below the typical prosumer. I've just bought an Chinon F1.7/50mm manual focus prime lens to play with, it was in mint condition and cost me 25 quid and it's in the mail.

The camera is actually my wifes, and she was adamant on getting an all-in-one lens because she doesn't want to swap all the time / have to carry many things, hense the 18-200mm. If the IQ on this lens was good I'd think the same thing, but I just don't find the images crisp enough / with enough bokeh. So now I'm left with trying to figure out what lens I would be willing to lug around for a 2 week honeymoon.

The first thought we had was doing mount Kilimanjaro (6 days up, 1 down) followed by a week long safari. The other is a an adventure in south-east asia where we would be spending a lot of time in the jungles / backpacking. In both cases, as you can probably tell, weight is going to be a concern. Budget is a bit limited because we both just completed our 10th year of post-secondary education (i.e. poor as piss), but I'm willing to splurge a bit as we both have REAL jobs starting in the next few months.