Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2010, 08:11 AM   #1

FA versus A 645 lenses

As the release date of the 654D is approaching and the availability on the used market of FA lenses let's just say is not abundant, I would like to know from members that have had experience with both FA and A version of a lens or zoom, if in fact there is a significant difference in the optical quality of one versus the other.

I'll be interested in any 645 lens, these would be my primary choices:
35 mm 45-85 mm 80-160 mm 200 mm.

I am primarily an outdoor/nature photographer.

Thank you

05-12-2010, 08:41 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
The 35mm is a different construction. The rest are the same optics.....
05-12-2010, 02:52 PM   #3
Veteran Member

the FA 2.8/150 has different optics (and is marginally faster than the 3.5 A version). I think this also applies to the FA 200mm although it is as fast as the A version.

I only have the A version of the former length so cannot comment on it any further.
05-12-2010, 10:55 PM   #4
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
We've posted lens data tables for all the 645 lenses in our lens database; see here: Pentax Lens Review Database - Pentax 645 Medium Format Lenses

I haven't had that much practical experience with my 645 gear, but I can say that the A 120mm macro made a much better impression on me than the FA version. Obviously many of the lenses share the same optics, and while the key difference between A and FA lenses is obviously the autofocus, the important question is how truly beneficial is AF when you're already out there carrying a tripod an twenty pounds of gear

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)