Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-15-2010, 08:29 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
How much weight do we carry?

Recently I have been hiking with a 645 system and tripod.
I have back problem and I am not very good at carrying weight for long period of time which is driving me to reconsider taking MF when hiking.
Out of curiosity I weighted the different combination of equipment that I take with me from time to time.
I included only basic equipment, not the bag itself or filters...
I have attached the list in a PDF file is you are curious.

Any of my MF set (645 or Hasselblad) weight in around 6+Kg with tripod.
The LX with a very nice set of lenses is at 5Kg.
Handheld without tripod, LX or MZ-S come at less than 2Kg.

This is no surprise that the tripod "tip the scale" one way or the other.

Cheers,

Luc

Last edited by lbenac; 07-14-2012 at 07:05 AM.
06-15-2010, 10:43 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Camera bag of accessories plus Hassy 500CM, 60/80/150mm, light meter and compact tripod add up to 18.5 lbf (= 8.4 kgf). And I carry that around all the time. I'd expect my 6x7 with WLF and equivalent three lenses to be a little more.
06-15-2010, 11:25 PM   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have often wondered about the weight trade-off with the different formats. I don't own a scale, but I estimate that the Chamonix 4x5 view camera with two lenses and two 120 roll film holders and the requisite tripod is about 14+ lbs (6.4 kg). I could probably shave about a pound off if I had less involved tripod legs. The articulated center column on the Giottos 8360 is nice, but heavy.

On the other end of the spectrum is my Ricoh XR7 with a three lens kit (28mm, 50mm, and 70-150 zoom) and light-weight tripod. I figure about 4-5 lbs (2.3 kg) max. The whole Ricoh kit takes up about the same amount of space as just the Chamonix body.