Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-01-2010, 02:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Any FUJI PROVIA 100F equivalents in negative film.

I am quite new to non-digital imaging, and I am getting a vintage 6X6 medium format camera.

I've narrowed down my choice of 120 film to be FUJICHROME PROVIA 100F, but then I realized it's only available for slide and not negative film.

What I need are, fine grain, good sharpness decent color accuracy and exposure lattitude.

Is there a negative film that can give me those and the look of FUJICHROME PROVIA 100F?

Thank you.

P.S: Also, any suggestions on a good place in the USA who would do a professional job in developing and providing high quality scans for 120 negatives. Price is not a factor for now.

07-01-2010, 02:42 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
1) Kodak Ektar
2) Kodak 160NC or 160VC
3) Fuji 160S or 160C
not in order of preference - I'm trying Ektar now for the first time in 120

160VC and 160C are the more 'vivid color' formulations; NC and S are 'natural color' formulas

To be honest I tend to buy the Fuji as it is cheaper than Kodak, and more often S than C
The times I've used Kodak 160NC I have been impressed

the list is here:
Roll Film

For develop + scan, Dwayne's is the way to go at a good price. Otherwise, look around for where wedding photog's get their 120 done (or ask one), if there are any left shooting 120
07-01-2010, 02:51 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Original Poster
Jussi, thanks for those.

Heard the ektars are not that forgiving to expsoure errors. let me know what you think.

I'll reserach a bit more on the fuji vs kodak and pick one. Thanks!
07-01-2010, 03:14 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Ektar is bad in low light, shadows go to blu and purple :/

07-01-2010, 06:04 PM   #5
Veteran Member

Then again, slide film's also known as not forgiving.