Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-04-2010, 10:47 PM   #1

Pentax 6X7 camera shake

Hello my name is Jon Anderson and I'm getting a 6X7, that I've never used before fixed and I have a couple of questions.
When I take a picture the camera shakes a lot with the mirror movement and maybe shutter movement. How slow can you hand hold a 6X7, what speed and how much trouble is the shutter shake? Does it still cause a problem on a tripod, like maybe for real slow shutter speeds. I have kind of small hands and let me tell you, the 6X7 is heavy. What do you use for a strap on this model? I'm afraid I'm going to drop this sucker. Thanks everyone.

09-04-2010, 10:50 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The 6x7 isn't meant to be hand-held, since that would sort of be a waste of film. With a sturdy tripod, sharpness won't be a problem.

Here's the 6x7 factsheet: https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-medium-format-slr-camera-reviews/6...entax-6x7.html

As you can see, the body features mirror lock-up, which it what you'll want to use to prevent shaking due to mirror movement.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-04-2010, 11:12 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I use my 67 handheld quite a bit. I have taken shots at 1/60s handheld and they came out fine. Mirror/shutter shake is not really a big problem unless you are using lenses 300mm or longer. Granted you will always get better result by using a sturdy tripod but I have seen a lot of phenomenal 6x7 shots that were taken handheld.