Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-08-2010, 08:30 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Will the V500 meet my desires?

I'm looking for a scanner that can provide sufficient output to provide high-quality prints up to 11x14 or so (on the rare occasion I need a superior scan, I'll just send-out). I'm also a bit of a tightwad. The Epson V500 sounds like a pretty good choice to me, but I have some questions:

The maximum density is listed as 3.4. How does that affect output? Will I be able to get the maximum DR out of negatives? Is multiple-exposure-level scanning a method for getting the most out of negatives, and can it be done with the V500?

I mostly shoot landscape and nature, with some portraiture as well. I'm pretty new to the idea of scanning, but I really miss film and I've gotten tired of digital.

Anyone with any advice (particularly experience with the V500) is greatly appreciated. If I could get some full-res samples from anyone that would be great as well.

09-08-2010, 08:44 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
In one word : Yes !

I am scanning at 2400 dpi which is the best compromise of speed vs details.

I will post one later, I am not at home...

But you can look at some rescaled at 1024 pixels :

09-08-2010, 08:49 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks! Those look good, but I'm curious about the grain. Is that a characteristic in this case of the film or the scan? I like grain sometimes but if I'm going to use some nice smooth Ektar I'd rather not have the scanner upping the grain.

I look forward to your fullsizes. Thanks again.
09-08-2010, 11:04 AM   #4
Forum Member

The grain is there presumably it was there in the original. The fact that you see it in the scans is actually a good thing and it means that the scanner was doing its job.

Cheers,
Tassilo

09-08-2010, 11:24 AM   #5
Otis Memorial Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums