Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-16-2010, 12:30 PM   #1

Advice on getting started in medium format

I'm a photography student in need of a film camera. I've already decided I want medium format over 35mm; however, even after plenty of research I'm still undecided about which direction to go: Pentax 67 or another brand (e.g. 6x6; not quite as interested in 645s because it seems if you're going to go medium format you might as well take advantage of the larger negative, right? Or not?)

Currently I use a Pentax K-x with 3 Limited primes and also the 360 FGZ flash, which I believe is compatible with Pentax 67. Beside that accessory I can't see much overlap between the two, though, making me more willing to go with something other than Pentax. But I also hear that despite the bulk, weight, size, etc, that the 67 is a great option.

Any advice? I'm open to any suggestions. Thank you very much.

Also, would I likely need a new tripod or would this SLIK PRO 700DX panhead be sturdy enough to manage the 67, or perhaps another brand's 6x6?

Amazon.com: SLIK PRO 700DX Professional Tripod with Panhead (615-315): Camera & Photo

09-16-2010, 12:54 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Go 67. Will blow you away. But 645 ain't shabby either. Great thing about the Pentax systems is that you can use your 67 lens on 645 with the right adapter and still get auto aperture.

Square is an acquired taste; I love it, so I have Hasselblads, Pentacon Six mount cameras, Norita, Rollleiflex (SLR and TLR). They're all great in one way or another. Ahh, decisions, decisions :-)

With that said, in terms of sheer impact of the images, there are few that can best the 67 with some awesome smc glass (45/4, 105/2.4, 165/2.8...)
09-16-2010, 01:01 PM   #3

Original Poster
Thank you, RawheaD!