Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-25-2010, 10:42 PM   #1

Extension Tubes

Hi,

I have just purchased a set of Pentax 6x7 extension tubes on ebay. I have never used tubes before so I'm just trying to figure out a couple of things. Hope someone can help with the following questions...

1. What scenarios lend themselves to using the tubes? Am I right in thinking these are best used for when you want to focus closer in on your subject almost like a macro lens. I am thinking these are not really designed to get longer reach which is what I believe Teleconverters are used for?
  2. Which Pentax 67 lenses are most suitable for using with the tubes? or is there no real limitations?
  3. What exposure compensation if any is required when using the tubes? Looking at the manual (http://www.pentaximaging.com/files/manual/6x7_EXTENSION_TUBES.pdf) it seems that for example using Tube #1 (14mm) on most lenses results in an exposure compensation of x1.6. Does this mean I need to add just over half a stop to my exposure (either aperture or shutter speed) to compensate for the tube?
  4. Is there any tangible loss of image quality when using these tubes? Is the effect cumulative (ie, more tubes = more quality loss)? As there is no optics in these tubes not sure about this...
  5. When using the tubes on a P67II body how is the metering on the AE Prism affected? And if I have the modification on my P67II to show the aperture in the viewfinder is that now not going to work when using a tube?

Thanks in advance for any help with these questions!

Rgds
Rick

10-26-2010, 07:29 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
1. They will only make it possible to focus closer. Depending on the lens this may be for macro or just for portrait.

2. Sorry, no idea. Generally, wide angles won't give you enough working distance.