Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-12-2010, 08:11 AM   #1
Forum Member

6x7 negative damage?

This is the first roll of film I have used with this camera and I am a complete novice to the medium format.
I developed a roll of film and did some prints, and i noticed some damage to the emulsion side of the negative. Usually I expect a few scratches or imperfections to the negative, however this was on the majority of the negatives and in a similar pattern

Here is an example, see the black spots in a vertical line on the photo.

since the pattern was very predictable, I come to the possibility that the camera may be causing damage with each advancement of film.

I had a look at the roller at the right side of the camera, as i do not have previous experience i am not sure what it is ment to look like. It looks a bit old (?) and possibly damaged? I am not sure, i have included pictures below.

this could be the problem, maybe how I have spooled the film, however, it does not seem like damagaed caused this way, it appears like pressure to the emulsion to cause this damage. It could also be me doing something completely wrong and damaging the film by operating the camera wrong.

Since there is alot of experience here with these types of camera, i wonder if anyone has come across this before?

Thanks.

11-12-2010, 10:01 AM   #2
Pentaxian

That camera looks like it has seen better days. It must be a very early model. I see several feature differences. My roller is smooth plastic. I guess the roller would have to be damaging the film in order for it to be consistent. Are you developing and scanning the film yourself?

Black spots can mean the emulsion is damaged or metal ions on the film and white spots can be dust or really tiny white spots in quantity could be calcium salts in the water.