Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-21-2010, 03:02 PM   #1

645D-First Impressions~an Amateur's view

Hi all:
Yes, I am an Amateur, but no stranger to big prints from MF negatives. Built my first darkroom in 1959, was making 16"x20" color prints by 1960, using "Kodak Color Print Material Type C" (It didn't even have a name). I used Hasselblad 500C, Pentax 6x7 and 645 cameras. Scanned negatives of those old shots using a Polaroid 4000 dpi 120 Sprintscan yield great 20"x30" prints.

Pentax has a winner here, as I believe the target audience is people like me: serious photographer/print maker, sell enough big (20"x24", 24"x30" and 30"x36" mat and framed) fine art prints every year to allow me to use fine equipment. I wanted to check out all the focus issues I have read here and elsewhere. I used 4 of my 7 accumulated lenses of a shot from my deck looking at the bay. For each lens, focus #1 was at the end of the pier. No2 was mid-pier. No 3 was at house on island ("Almost" infinity), and focus 4 was at infinity, achieved by manually moving the focus ring as far as it would go. 645 lenses do not go past infinity. I checkd the AF 45~85 at 45mm, 65mm, and 85mm. I also checked my manual focus 35mm f3.5, 55mm manual f2.8, and 75mm f2.8 manual. All hand held, f11 at about 1/250 Aperature preferred. ISO 200. No post processing/sharpening. I will try to upload a down sized jpg to show the test scene. The biggest prints I will be making will be 24"x32", limited by my 24" printer. Here is what I found: