Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-31-2010, 08:34 PM   #1

645N II Vs 67 II

I am brand new to the Pentax Forum, this being my first input. I found the forum while searching for information on replacing my current medium format camera, a Yashica MAT124G, with another medium format camera having interchangeable lenses. Based on price, reported satisfaction, availability, and operational similarity to the 35mm and DSLR cameras that I already have, I’ve pretty much settled on either the Pentax 645N II or the 67 II.

For landscape and macro photography, it seems to me that having the largest film area that can be reasonably used will result in the greatest amount of detail, and therefore will result in the most satisfying photo. This assumes that film would be the same across the board and that lens quality would also be the same.

On this basis, the Pentax 67 II would appear to be the best candidate for me. However, most of the forum discussions seem to be on the 645 in its various forms. (There is a huge amount of discussion of the 645D, which to me is a step backwards, spending large amounts of money for lesser quality photos.)

Using 35mm as a reference, the 645 gives 1 ½ times the35mm picture area while the 67 gives 2 ¼ times the 35mm area, or 1 ½ times more than the 645. Poking around on the various used camera sites, it appears that there isn’t much difference in price between the 645N II and the 67II. The 67II is somewhat bigger and heavier but not a lot and this isn’t a big deal to me since I’m not going backpacking with either one.

Am I missing something here? Is the 645N II distinctly enough better in photographic quality than the 67 II to make up for having only 2/3rds the picture area? Are there other attributes of the 645N II that make it a better, more satisfying camera to own and use?

12-31-2010, 09:42 PM   #2
Forum Member