Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2011, 08:17 AM   #1

645D-First *BIG* Prints: "HAPPY CAMPER"

I have read here and elsewhere about focusing issues, DOF, etc. I agree, when looking at "Actual Pixels" on a big monitor, one could think focus was missed slightly, the f13, f16 diffraction, etc, gremlins were at work. Well I made two different 24"x32" prints last night, and WOW--those fears are a non issue for me. Detail that is amazing. Focus on; depth of field in front and back. Yes, I am an amateur, so I probably am less critical than some, but I am a very happy camper! I used a 45~85 lens, exposures 1/80th to 1/125th, and monopod (the way I usually work). If someone here can guide me as to how to upload a full size file (big file!), I would gladly do so, so you can make your own print and judge for yourself. I will be spending less time here, and more time making big prints!
Dave Gurtcheff
www.modernpictorials.com

01-19-2011, 08:40 AM   #2
Ole
Administrator

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Nice to hear! Image quality should be judged from prints exactly like you did. Pixel peeping at 100% is totally irrelevant - the magnification at 100% is just way higher than anyone will use in practice!
01-19-2011, 08:55 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
Awesome. I actually did the same thing a few weeks ago and saw the difference between a 5d MKII and the 645D when printing large.

Last night I printed out a 20x30 (obviously cropped) for a client taken with my 645D. The details were stunning
01-19-2011, 09:14 AM   #4
Inactive Account

QuoteOriginally posted by gurtch Quote
If someone here can guide me as to how to upload a full size file (big file!), I would gladly do so, so you can make your own print and judge for yourself.
Put in on dropbox.com in the Public folder and post the link. Dropbox is free up to 2gb.

01-19-2011, 10:17 AM   #5
Pentaxian

QuoteOriginally posted by Shuttershane Quote