Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-07-2011, 10:27 AM   #1
Inactive Account

Love My 645 But...

Don't quite know for sure if this will be the right forum for my dilemma, but...I am a user and lover of a Pentax 645. And I also use a Mamiya RZ67. I love film photography, but I'm in a rural area, and lately it's just become so much of a pain to get film processed that I'm considering trading in (selling) the RZ to get a Pentax digital camera to compliment my 645. I'm not giving up on film. It's just that I want to see some results for my efforts in an easier way sometimes. I'm totally new at this level of digital gear, but if I'm thinking right, I can get a digital body, such as the K20D or K7 that will accept the 645 lenses...correct? I would appreciate this forums input on this subject.

02-07-2011, 10:53 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Any Pentax dslr can be used with 645 lenses if you have the adapter (check Pentax Reviews - Pentax Lens Reviews & Pentax Lens Database ), but in all honesty, you'll probably get better results with modern k-mount lenses. Get a k-5 and see the magic happen, IMO!
02-07-2011, 11:13 AM   #3
Forum Member

How many RZ lenses do you have? And how many P645 lenses? For me it would come down to retaining the film system that offered the most flexibility - which the RZ has an upside in that its 6x7 vs. 6x4.5. The downside of course is portability.
02-07-2011, 11:36 AM   #4
Inactive Account

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by VoltMan Quote
How many RZ lenses do you have? And how many P645 lenses? For me it would come down to retaining the film system that offered the most flexibility - which the RZ has an upside in that its 6x7 vs. 6x4.5. The downside of course is portability.