Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-12-2011, 01:50 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Travelling with medium format gear

G'day,
In a short while I will be travelling internationally on my first completely photography oriented trip. I'm really looking forward to it, however I would appreciate some guidance on a couple of things...

First of all, I plan to take 3 systems: Digital, 135 film and medium format (67). Do I sound crazy?
Digital will be for convenience and for covering an airshow that I will be attending. It will also come in handy for snapshots and wildlife.
35mm film will be for when I want to pack light, and also for a bit of street shooting and snapshots. However if I had to lose a system, it might be 35mm.
Lastly will be medium format with the Pentax 67. I am only new to the 67 and 120 film, but already love it. I can see myself shooting a large amount of film, both colour and black and white. Main uses will be for landscape and static photos at the airshow.

As you would realise, all this will amount to a lot of bulk and weight. So I am curious as to how others go about this.
To be a bit more specific, my setup will be something like this:

1) 35mm film with MX, M50/1.4, M20/4, M135/3.5
2) Digital with K5(*) + grip, 60-250(*), DA35ltd, DA15ltd
3) MF film with 67 + WLF, 55/4, 105/2.4, short tele lens(*)
And of course accessories: couple of filters, LOTS of film, batteries, tripod, monopod, etc.

* means something I don't have yet but are planning to buy.

So, am I crazy?? I could easily take even more. Do others pack a similar amount on trips like this? Any suggestions for getting flights without items being stolen or damaged? I think it's inevitable that I will be pushing the boundaries with what I can get onto a plane (here it's 7kg max), so sometime soon I will contact the airline to see if there are any options.

Thanks,
Jason

02-12-2011, 02:08 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums