Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-04-2011, 11:41 AM   #1

First trials with 645D and HDR

Messing with 645D and HDR. A friend I met here (Richard Jones, aka Aeros) suggested I try using CS5 HDR Toning, rather than Merge to HDR. He also suggested you can use one shot, bring into ACR, and make one 2 stops over, one 2 stops under and combine with a "correct" exposure. The first shot was done that way. Second shot also used HDR Toning, but combined three shots 2 stops apart made in camera, tripod used.
I'm still learning.....
Dave G in NJ THANKS AGAIN RICHARD!

Attached Images

04-04-2011, 12:08 PM   #2
Zav
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
To my taste it's already some overcooked HDR. I wonder if 645D really needs so many manipulation and if so smart tone mapping would not be enough.
04-04-2011, 12:38 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Almost..

I love HDR when it brings everything you see into the final output.

In your 2nd photo, I think the lower half is pretty good. However, the sky (As in most HDR) is where my eyes see a problem. This, IMO would look great with the sky toned down a lot.

Also, I'm new to this as well, so I have no idea how it's done, but would love to hear some input about how to tone it down.

Thanks for sharing the idea, the pictures & your results you use, as we all get better in the end.
04-04-2011, 02:54 PM   #4

I subscribe to "Less is better", preferring to understate. I agree with the preceding comments by Zav and glee46. That said, it's all very subjective and a result of personal taste. The shots themselves are gorgeous landscapes. The editing though seems to have flattened the depth of field.