Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-28-2011, 12:43 PM   #16
Banned

Photos: Gallery
Very impressive!

06-28-2011, 08:46 PM   #17

Great report, and great photos as well. Thanks for posting this!
06-29-2011, 02:30 AM   #18
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Great report with impressive photos.

Any ideas when this lens should become available?
06-30-2011, 01:39 PM   #19
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by tcom Quote
Any ideas when this lens should become available?
B&H says July on the website, so it should be available soon.

06-30-2011, 03:10 PM   #20

Harklee,

You have mentioned focus stacking in the past - do you mind sharing your workflow when you incorporate focus stacking?

I'm just getting started in working with it, and appreciate any insight.

Thanks!

Laurence
07-10-2011, 10:49 AM   #21
Forum Member

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by lnorton Quote
You have mentioned focus stacking in the past - do you mind sharing your workflow when you incorporate focus stacking?
Laurence,

Here is a rough write-up of the process,

First, run a series of tests on the lens you would like to use.

Tape a small patch of tick marks on your lens (as shown in the pic) so that you will be able to remember and go back to a specific focus setting for your lens.

Choose a place with noticeable textures or objects in the foreground so that you can identify if any spot is in or out of focus. Set up a few targets (or just pick some objects in the foreground), measure and remember their distances from the camera using a long tape measure or laser distance meter.

An example of laser distance meter :
http://www.google.com/products/catalog?q=leica+distance+meter&hl=en&rls=com....d=0CJ8BEPMCMAA#