Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-18-2012, 07:17 AM   #1
Veteran Member

6x7 prints vs DSLR prints

Has anyone ever done any comparisons of prints made from 6x7 negs against prints from a DSLR? And if so, were the prints from 6x7 enlarged from negs or scanned? Say in 11x14 prints or maybe 16x20

01-18-2012, 08:31 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
In general it's not a straight comparison since it's tough to shoot equivalents. My 2 cents for what it's worth where i've compared is in B/W
I have yet to manage a digital B/W print in any size that compares to a well printed wet process archival fine art print. It's probably a bias tied to the fact that i've been shooting B/W film and wet printing it for almost 40 years

digital prints from A DSLR Vs Medium Format scans will depend on a number of factors. Scan quality is a really big factor in the end result. A well shot DSLR image versus a Flatbed scan that may not be as good as it could the DSLR will win. OTOH a 6x7 wet drum scanned will be far superior. At the 1x14 there may not be much difference to make the expensive scan worth it. at 30x40 it will be worth every penny

I use a flatbed for proofs of medium format but either wet print or get a good scan done and have a fine art print done

EDIT - Of course which DSLR and sensor it is makes a big difference as well. my 35mm high quality scans can easily outperform my *ist ds, but won't touch my K7
01-18-2012, 08:47 AM   #3

I once made a quick comparison between a 16MP FF canon DSRL v. a P67 Velvia scanned with a Minolta Scan Multi Pro at 3200 dpi.
Sharpness wise the DSRL was maybe equal so I guess in this realm a 5D2 should easily win.
But the digital image looked flatter while the analog much more creamy and pleasant. I preferred and still prefer the 6x7 analog image.