Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-26-2013, 04:05 AM   #1

film types and samples

hi everyone...

i think it is already obvious to all you guys that i'm a noob when it comes to film... so here it goes...

does anyone have a site link that discusses the different types of film, and sample shots of each? ex samples from velvia... or whatever types of film that
is still available in the market? because right now... i see so many and i don't know which one to pick...

thanks!

01-26-2013, 05:26 AM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
i have not a huge experience in film but tried some, here is my conclusion :

color :
- fuji superia is cheap but not super saturated, and is not great when pushed. but, hey ! it's damn cheap !!

- the kodak gold is like the superia but more saturated

- Kodak portra is awesome : nice color, nice sat. my favorite color film so far.

b&w :
- kodak triX is cheap but good ! don't push it more than 2 stops : it become too grainy.

- Kodak Tmax is a bit better, finer grain, and depending on the place you live can cost only 0.10 or .020c more than TriX.

- Ilford HP5+ is like triX

- Ilford delta can be pushed up to 3 stops without any visible grain degradation in my expericence. i go for it when i need clear pictures. but cost more.

i suggest you to take some cheap film to begin, and try out some differents film each time. That's a part of the fun : changing film for different purpose

Last edited by aurele; 01-26-2013 at 05:43 AM.
01-26-2013, 06:32 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
My experience with 120 films so far.

My two cents ... and again I look forward to the comments of those who have more experience than I in these matters. I have tried a handful of films and here is my take on them:

Color negative: I've only tried one, and that's Kodak Ektar. Scans wonderfully, NO grain and at least to me seems to lean a bit warm. 100 asa film

Black and White: