Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-22-2013, 08:20 AM   #1
Inactive Account

645D and Long Exposure

Hello all this is my 1st post here. I making the jump into medium format and I am trying to decide between the 645D and the PhaseOne P45+.

I am a fine art photographer who will probably never use the camera in a studio. I primary focus on landscape long exposure work. The main reason for the switch is the need to print large with quality. My canon 5d mkII is just not cutting anymore. My buyers are constantly asking for larger print size than I can get with the 5D MKII.

My main question about the 645D is its long exposure capabilities. I really like everything about the system but I am having trouble getting good info on long exposures. I know about the dark frame thing and I can live with it. What I don't know is how long the 645D is capable of shoot a single exposure and still look good.

Can some of you guys with experience with the 645D chime in here? I'm not looking to go for an hour long like the P45+ but I would like to know if I can reach about 10-15mins if needed. I mostly shoot between 30 and 150 sec. I have some nighttime projects in mind that will require some much longer exposures maybe reaching into the 10-15mins realm.

Any info will be greatly appreciated.

03-23-2013, 02:02 AM   #2

Check out The Luminous Landscape for more information about the camera and back in question. From what I've gathered from my time spend there (and I spend quite a lot of time there - too much I'd say), the P45 is the better option for large prints and long exposure.

Of course, the best option would be for one of the new 260 or 280 Phase One backs, but do you have deep enough pockets?
03-23-2013, 04:02 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
I love my 645D , but, this week i took a Phase 180 IQ for a test drive.....there is no comparison.......totally different animals...........
03-24-2013, 04:33 PM   #4
Forum Member