Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-20-2013, 05:19 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
contemplating 6x7 purchase

HI,

I am looking to start my journey into medium format and am seeking the advice of those who have gone before me.
I love film and the way you have to slow down and think about what you're doing to get great photos
(and the look on peoples faces when you tell them they CAN'T see the photo you just took on the back of the camera).

I've been reading everything I can about medium format but I am still new to the MF world.
I will be using medium format for landscapes, pretty much exclusively with some occasional architectural.
I've used 35mm rangefinders in the past, so I am probably fine with most aspects of the inevitable learning curve.

I [think] I've settled on a Pentax 6x7 that's available locally which comes with 75mm and 135mm lenses.
I understand that these particular lenses are not particularly wide,
so am hoping add a 55mm and 90mm to this collection as time goes by.

My questions are basically this:

Does this lens lineup sound reasonable for mostly landscape work?
Is there any particular lens I should be aiming for or avoiding?

Is there any non-obvious problem I should be on the lookout for with this setup?

Any other advice for a beginner would be most welcome.

Thanking you all in advance.
Bruce

06-20-2013, 06:39 PM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery