Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-05-2013, 06:40 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Shots taken my Pentax 645 and advice needed as results are not as expected

Hi,

Bought a Pentax 645 Nii back in July.
Went on holiday in September and got the results back yesterday.

Went to the Indian Ocean (Reunion island) thus good lighting conditions.

To be fair I am pretty disapointed with the results so if you can advice me it would be welcome.
I used several types of film (Kodak, Ilford, Fuji) some in color and others in B/W.

For the time being I concentrate on the color films.

A lab in Paris developped my films and I'm scanning it at home (I'm new to scanning).
I use the Plustek Opticfilm 120 with Silverfast.
In silverfast I use as much as possible the standard settings.

For my pictures I fully relied on the build in meter (and thus did not use an external lightmeter).

Some concerns I currently have:
- Seems that quite a lot of what I shot comes out underexposed.

- I find the results not very 'sharp'.
(I scanned other films before my holiday which were sharp with those lenses).

- On some of the film I have a lot of "grain" (see the examples below).
The 2 examples below are with Kodak Porta 160.

Example 1:
(actually this is taken from the garden of the house we have over there ).
Film used porta 160NS.
F11, 1/250, FA75, AF S, WideC, Iso 160.

Example 2:
Film used porta 160NS.
F13, 1/250, FA150, AF S, Iso 160

Spotmetering used for both of them. Shot with autofocus (thus not manual mode).

Any suggestion will be welcome.

Attached Images

Last edited by spotreunion; 08-05-2015 at 11:48 AM.
10-05-2013, 11:00 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Print film has quite a bit of variation at the lab compared with slide film. The same negative given to five labs will all look different. Scanning will soften your image unless you spend lots of money and have it drum scanned or virtual drum scanned ( such as the Hasselblad X5).