Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-21-2014, 05:05 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Medium Format Glass better quality optics?

G'day all, Im new to pentax coming from Canon DSLR's and moving toward MF, I have read that Medium format Lenses are generally better quality than most lenses for the 35mm market, is this correct?

I would expect the optics to be better, for the higher resolution prints/files. Can any one confirm that a Pentax 645 lens is better buit than say a Canon L series lens, in terms of glass and construction.

Thanks , Tom

05-21-2014, 06:54 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Thomasbrowphoto Quote
Can any one confirm that a Pentax 645 lens is better buit than say a Canon L series lens, in terms of glass and construction.
All Pentax medium format lenses are "pro" lenses, since that's the target audience for the medium format market. Optically, they are all quite good, though some are of course better than others (see the reviews). In terms of build quality, the current DA lenses are up there with L lenses, but some of Pentax's older FA and A lenses aren't built as nicely (to keep prices down). You really get what you pay for when it comes to build quality- that's why the newer lenses are so expensive.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

05-22-2014, 11:23 AM   #3
Pentaxian