Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-29-2014, 11:25 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Medium Format Questions

I have been shooting with Pentax for about just over 2 years. This is my first ever foray into photography. I have a K-5 (soon to get a K-3)... my go to (main) lens lineup is: 15mm, 21mm, 31mm, 43mm, and a 70mm (probably soon to get a 77mm as I really like the FA Limited lenses).

Over time I have slowly gotten to where I am able to produce decent images, but of course I am far from being an expert. Long story short I am not a complete noob but I am still learning tons all the time. That all said I want to learn more about the differences of medium format shooting. Of course I don't own a medium format camera (yet), but I have a few questions...

Here is pretty much all I know...the sensor is much bigger and the megapixel count is much larger. From what I have read because of this lenses that are for medium format have a negative crop calculation to get back to that 35mm thing. For example a 75mm medium format lens will be roughly equivalent to a 50mm 'traditional' 35mm format film era calculation.

Going more in depth into that, 'crop factor' on my K-5... a 50mm lens still has the same magnification regardless of format, it's just that with a crop sensor one essentially has the FOV of a 75mm lens. This is essentially accomplished by the camera plucking out the center of the circle of light, but not by truly increasing the magnification. On a medium format though...how does this work?

Another question... are the lenses for Pentax medium format (I refer to prime lenses) anywhere near the Pentax Limited/FA Limited lens line up as to sharpness?

Does that gigantic sensor make a difference? Other than sheerly having more real estate for the image to rest on...which can result in substantially better resolution? What are the pros and cons?