Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-20-2014, 02:25 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Should I buy a 67?

Going through a bit of a camera collection phase right now. Bought my first film Pentax, a Super ME, quickly followed with a K1000. Both of which I am yet to receive.

Now the 67 has me intrigued. It will mostly be a collection item but I will definitely use it too (should I get one). I like tbh e idea of using medium format if I am going to shoot film.

Probably a stupid question considering where I am posting this...

08-20-2014, 03:13 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
at least wait until you get those film cameras. 67 is pretty complex, as far as i know. Take it slow, but definitely keep an eye out on 67 bodies and lenses, and maybe snag one if you see a good price
08-20-2014, 03:25 PM   #3
Veteran Member

I have been learning about medium format for about 2 years now.
with little collection of vintage Takumar and Graflex stuff.

If cost is a consideration, you could look at the Mamiya RB series.
About 1/3 of the Pentax 67 costs and probably of a similar (high) standard from various forum sellers and dealers like KEH.
08-20-2014, 03:44 PM   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

I love my 6x7s. Please don't get one to put under glass and never use!

I only have the waist level finder, which I personally find conducive to MF landscape and close-up shots. Have yet to do portraits--not enough skill or confidence I guess, given the over $1/frame cost. But it is so fun and so different than digital, and 35mm film for that matter.

If you shoot B&W, most reels/developing tanks handle 135 and 120 film, which is nice. I don't have a darkroom and so digitize all my negs at home. If you're planning on digitizing at home, formats larger than 135 can require special equipment (dedicated scanners, or in my case, a jerry-rigged DSLR digitizing setup).