Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-02-2014, 03:35 PM   #1
Inactive Account

pentax 67 question

hi everyone,

recently acquired a pentax 67 with mlu + 55mm f4 lens + ttl prism,

there seems to be an issue with the metering, the modes on the lens ''auto'' and ''manuel'' are acting the same way,

when i choose auto the meter is working fine, when swithced to manuel nothing changes i still have the same readings,

is this supposed to be like that ?, i'm a newbie to the 67 system, i searched the issue on the net but couldn't find any answers..

10-02-2014, 04:22 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Some 67 bodies will give the same reading wide open when "auto" or "manual" is selected. However, on the bodies where the reading is the same wide open, the readings are different when the lens is stopped down a bit. Other 67 bodies I've used will not even meter on "manual" with a lens in place. They will only meter when something is placed between the body and lens ( like the helicoid tube). One test that you could do, is to see how it meters when you put something between the lens and body and see if it meters on "manual". The manual mode is designed for stopped down metering, when the auto metering connection is lost. You may not have a problem.
10-02-2014, 04:22 PM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Welcome to the forum.

Yes the TTL meter should read the same for manual or auto. You move the lens into manual when you want to check the DOF.

When you use extension tubes on a 67 lens you have to meter with the lens in manual.

Phil.
10-04-2014, 11:06 PM   #4
Veteran Member