Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
10-24-2014, 02:59 PM   #1

Pentax Glass for 645z

So being new (and a newbie here) to Pentax system and looking to build a kit for a 645z.

Pentax make three tiers of glass from what I've found.
There is FA glass from the film days, D FA from the early digital days and DA from the current Digital Days.

I'm taking it that the FA lenses work with 645z okay just not great just like in the early days of digital 15 + years ago with film lenses. Then came along D FA glass which is an improvement in the quality of the images and works better with digital. (plus the chips improved as well). So the DA glass is designed for the newer or newest camera and chips in today's market.

Is there a crop factor to take in to consideration with the 645z glass like with 35mm cropped sensor to full frame?

Which are the better lenses in the DA, D FA and FA line? NOT interested in zooms period. Just prefer primes.

Looking for three lenses wide, normalish and something for portraits.

Did anyone covert from Phase One and Hasselbald over to Pentax. If so why?

Thanks for your time!

10-24-2014, 03:14 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by ru2far2c Quote
Is there a crop factor to take in to consideration with the 645z glass like with 35mm cropped sensor to full frame?
Yes - about 1.36x compared to 645 film. However, this can be disregarded when looking at lens focal lengths.

A 25mm on the 645Z is roughly equivalent to a 19mm on FF and a 15mm on APS-C, if that helps put things into perspective.

I would recommend the DA 25mm F4, DFA 55mm F2.8, and A 120mm F2.8 macro. User reviews can be found here:
Pentax 645 Medium Format Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database