Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-25-2014, 03:39 PM   #1

Help! Cannot AF with FA 645 35mm F 3.5 AL (IF) Lens

I am new to Pentax and was just received my Pentax 645Z for one day, I purchased a 2nd Hand Pentax SMC FA 645 35mm F 3.5 AL (IF) Lens from Japan before the camera, now found that the lens cannot AF by the 645Z, anybody have an idea? I did push-pull the ring on the lens to get it to auto focus mode, and the camera is able to control the aperture. I also tried by turning the screw on the rear of the lens, it does changing focus. However, the camera always show MF with this lens, so it seems the 645Z does not look at this lens can do AF and did not drive the screw to do AF with this lens.

On the other hand, the 645Z is doing AF well with the Pentax D FA645 55mm F2.8 AL (IF) SDM AW Lens come with it.

Any particular settings on the camera for the older lens?

12-25-2014, 03:50 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
According to the specs it should work and one reviewer reports that it does. SMC Pentax-FA 645 35mm F3.5 AL [IF] Reviews - 645 Wide-Angle Primes - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Standard steps:
reseat lens
clean contacts
recheck AF/MF setting
make certain the battery is fully charged
12-25-2014, 04:33 PM   #3
Administrator
Site Webmaster

It should just work. Try cleaning the contacts on the lens. It's also possible that something's broken in the af/mf clutch.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
12-25-2014, 04:51 PM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by Docrwm Quote